AFP Manitoba

The Profound Impact of Philanthropy in Manitoba
AFP Manitoba is a change agent in the community, and they represent the individuals and the organizations that are helping to marshal that change. Manitoba is currently the most successful philanthropic province in terms of per capita donations. Those donations, campaigns and initiatives are changing lives every day. AFP Manitoba supports the work of fundraisers by helping people support their communities; members/clients solve problems; speaking on behalf of fundraisers and fundraising organizations; developing research and education tools that further the work of our members; maintaining a specific Code of Ethics and Standards for the industry, as well as a Donor Bill of Rights; Providing programs and services that help enhance fundraising careers and assist professionals in furthering their careers.

As fundraising professionals, the association’s members join together to promote thoughtful and effective philanthropy in the province, particularly with connecting to the National Philanthropy Day by presenting the Manitoba Philanthropy Awards. The wonderful stories of winning recipients allows them to share the power of philanthropy to the community and to recognize them for their time, commitment and passion for their cause.

This year’s awards are scheduled for November 13, 2020 at the RBC Convention Centre, Winnipeg (or by virtual means if necessary).

The AFP Manitoba volunteer team represents the best and brightest in the province. President: Nicole Hrehirchuk, World Vision Canada; President-Elect: Karen Fowler, St. Boniface Hospital Foundation; Past President/Nominations: Sana Mahboob, Government of Canada; Awards & Scholarships: Kirsten Davidson, CFFE, Winnipeg Foundation; Communications: Lisa Thomson Stifora, St. Boniface Hospital Foundation; Communications: Evan Maydaniuk, Royal Winnipeg Ballet; Government Relations: Justin Wilson, University of Manitoba; Membership: Donna Korade, The Shevchenko Foundation; Mentorship: Valorie Block, CFRE, Mennonite Central Committee – Manitoba; National Philanthropy Day: Stephanie Lambert, Rossbrook House Foundation; National Philanthropy Day: Crystal Leochko Johnston, Eclipse Research Group; Outreach: Heidi Struck, Manitoba Theatre for Young People; Professional Advancement: Genevieve Cloutier, Balmoral Hall School; Professional Advancement: Courtney Nodrick, CFFE, Children’s Hospital Foundation.

AFP Saskatoon

The Saskatoon Chapter is very active, offering members the opportunity to connect with colleagues, engage in creative thinking, network with new friends and achieve great results in their work. AFP Saskatoon Chapter focuses on delivering innovative educational programs and events to help you the fundraising professional reach your goals. The chapter is a link to networking and development sessions for professionals at all levels of the field. They offer opportunities for volunteering, host special events like National Philanthropy Day, and much more. The chapter executives urge individuals and organizations in the city and surrounding area to check out the programs, volunteer opportunities and get to know those involved in keeping the chapter active.

The Chapter’s 2020 celebration will look a bit different this year and the executive are hoping members and interested individuals will join in their National Philanthropy Day Celebration Week from Nov. 15th – Nov. 19th, 2020. Nominations are open and close October 15th. Each nominee will receive a commemorative photobook highlighting the 2020 nominees and a special award. Over the week they will be sharing videos, photos, and information on the NPD Saskatoon Facebook page to celebrate philanthropy in the community.

The leadership group includes President: Jennifer Molloy, University of Saskatchewan; President-Elect: Ashala Jacobsen, University of Saskatchewan; Treasurer: DonnaLyn Thorsteinson, Saskatoon Public Schools Foundation; Secretary: Kathleen Crowther,DCG Philanthropic Services; Ethics: Jenny Plotzki, United Way of Saskatoon; NPD Luncheon Co-Chairs: Ashlyn Yablonski, STARS and Karen Linsley, Ronald McDonald House; and Membership: Catherine Lunn, Children’s Wish Foundation.

Contact via Email ( ) to learn more and get involved or visit the website at

AFP South Saskatchewan

The chapter recently rebranded from AFP Regina to AFP South Saskatchewan to better reflect their constituency. They host education sessions and networking events each year. Chapter president Marc Butikofer says, “As we work to continue to grow our membership, I hope we can also grow philanthropy in our community and celebrate the donors and volunteers who make our world better every day.” Butikofer is the Director of Development, University of Regina. The Chapter will hold its 19th annual National Philanthropy Day (NPD) Awards celebration online, in mid November. Award recipients will be featured in a video series that celebrates fundraising, gift planning, and philanthropy in our communities. Nominations for individuals and groups which have gone above and beyond in the philanthropy, fund-raising or planned giving sectors are welcomed.

Previous post

Canada’s Charitable Sector is Broken

Next post

Historic Plaques Which Honour Philanthropy

The Editor

The Editor